un/selfish knitting

 

Time away from blogging has led me to discover new knitting challenges: knitting exclusively from stashed yarn AND knitting for others. Because challenges don’t happen very often, this called for a blog post on a calendar date that also doesn’t happen very often!

Reality finally sunk in, and I realized that I might be near SABLE (Stash Acquisition Beyond Life Expectancy).

IMG_4413

Yikes! 9 big totes plus 3 under-bed totes (and loose yarn on top of totes).

This, along with participating in a “Stash Down” Knit-A-Long, led me to become less selfish and to spread the knitting love to others. For the first two months of 2016, I finished 7 projects – with only three projects for myself! Four projects were surprise gifts, and one is waiting for the perfect recipient. I also have 2 WIPs that are surprises!

It has been extremely satisfying to find a “project / person match,” and then to give the finished item as a surprise. It was difficult at first to not hoard ALL THE YARN, but I am starting to get over that. (Except my Malabrigo yarn. No one touches that…..!)

So far, I made two hats for my nephew. One was a part of a KAL with the designer, and it was a great chance to use up leftovers.

image_medium2

The Collina Hat pattern can be found on Ravelry. I used Knit Picks Swish Worsted.

The second hat included input from my nephew, specifically the colors and design. He LOVES it. 🙄

image_medium21

This is his Dragons hat – he has been reading the Wings of Fire novel series, so this is a great match for his current interest. 🙂 Pattern is based on the free Red Dragon Chart!

I also finished two cowls:

image_medium22

This is the 8th cowl I knit from the Collina Cowl pattern. I seriously love knitting it that much. This particular project ended up as a late Christmas gift.

img_4411_medium2

It probably looks like I live in a cave from my very poorly lit photos. Hey, I just call it real life. Also, this was the 10th Collina Cowl that I have knit….

Finally, I knit my sister some slipper socks while on vacation.

image_medium23

This is an awesome free pattern, Simple House Slippers. I used two strands of different yarn held together.

I am almost done with a cardigan that I have owed my mom since last Mother’s Day (oops). I finished the knitting on February 28 and just have the seaming left!

image_medium24

Hey! There is actually a sweater forming there! Pattern is Connie, available on Ravelry.

It’s been difficult to get over my selfish knitting hump, but I think I have reached the point of realizing the fun of surprising others with a gift that took so much time and thought.

********************************************************

As always, thanks for reading!

Don’t forget to follow my blog by email or by WordPress at the top right of the screen

And connect with me on

Facebook

Instagram

Ravelry

share your thoughts!

