test knit: Winter Rain

Autumn Rain pocket
Can you tell the ribbed edges and pocket are differently shaded than the body? I did not alternate in those areas.

Blogging is hard. I don’t post regularly, and then when I come back after a few months, I feel like I have to write a novel about the knitting I have done since my last blog post. So, I have a new challenge for myself (maybe a new year’s resolution?). I am going to keep posts to 300 words or less, minus photo captions!

So I present my latest test-knit sweater: Winter Rain by Jenn Emerson. The title is quite apt for the weather we’ve had in Minnesota – lots of rain, no snow, and warmer-than-usual weather. But it’s still been great sweater weather, and I have been getting a lot of use out of this fantastic piece!

Beautiful fall foliage…except it’s December now.

Autumn Rain Close Up

Look at those colors…I chose Malabrigo Rastita in Piedras.

Autumn Rain backside

A slightly fuzzy photo of the backside. But my hair bun looked cool, so I HAD to include this photo.

The idea for test knitting started way back in July – I first saw her post a photo of her sweater on Instagram, and I immediately knew I had to be a part of her test knit. I ordered Malabrigo Rastita from awesome Mr. Yarn and labeled the yarn as a self-chosen birthday present that my parents could give me in August. (Heheh, this is an excellent way to get more yarn in your stash.)

Malabrigo Rastita

I’m drooling – look at that color!

It was a relaxing knit, minus the meticulous pre-planning I did in order to alternate my skeins due to slightly different shadings of yarn dye.

Autumn Rain pocket

Can you tell the ribbed edges and pocket are differently shaded than the body? I did not alternate in those areas.

I also thought I had the perfect buttons for the “cowl” neck – but then my buttonholes turned out too small, so I had to find new buttons. And guess what…I found some awesome wood buttons at no other place but Wal-Mart.

Autumn Rain neck

An obligatory square photo from my Instagram account. (Click the photo to see my Instagram account!)

I LOVE the neck, the kangaroo pocket, and the subtle princess body shaping. It’s a new favorite! For you knitters, check out my VERY detailed notes on my Ravelry project page.

And just in case you’re wondering: word count 300! 😉

********************************************************

As always, thanks for reading!

Don’t forget to follow my blog by email or by WordPress at the top right of the screen

And connect with me on

Facebook

Instagram

Ravelry

share your thoughts!

