everything is awesome

This sweater just might become my favorite!

I have a hard time saying “no” to yarn and needles. Case in point: I was on a spending spree earlier this spring and summer, buying yarn left and right. It felt like I had a package arriving everyday in the mail! I vowed that I would slow down, and I marked July 27th as my last yarn purchase date (it was a Knit Picks order). I have actually been knitting from my stash, including accessories and even a couple sweaters. (My yarn diet worked up until Mr. Yarn‘s anniversary sale – more on that below.)

Even though I have been resisting new yarn, I have not been able to resist and say “no” to new patterns. Autumn is my favorite season, and I feel like I just HAVE to have like 10 more knit sweaters!

This is very accurate right now. (Or maybe it always was.)

Currently, I have 5 sweaters in progress (6 if you count one that’s been hibernating for over a year). Three are tests, the fourth is part of a Knit-Along (KAL), and the fifth has been patiently waiting since March from Malabrigo March.

I do have to thank two very patient designers as part of the sweater tests; I am just a tad behind on the knitting! But, I think it will be worth the wait. Here’s a peek at the tests:

First up is a sweater that is way overdue. I’m stranded on the Island of Finishing! I just have the upper front and back to finish, some blocking, sewing, and I will be done.

So close…sleeves are already done!!

Second is my Birthday Sweater, or also known as the Coat of Many Colors. This is Malabrigo Rastita yarn that I bought online from Mr. Yarn in July, and told my parents that I had taken care of their birthday present to me. Hee hee!

I am so close to getting this one done – I am further than the latest photo. I only have one more sleeve to go!

This sweater just might become my favorite!

This sweater just might become my favorite! I hope to post about the final product next week! 🙂

The third sweater test was started on September 1st and is due October 21st. It’s a worsted weight – cable – texture – cardigan! I am loving how it’s looking.

Lower body portion = done. Now just two sleeves and the top of the sweater!

The last sweater that I want to share quick is part of the Joji Fall KAL on Ravelry. My track record with actually participating in KALs isn’t that great, but so far I am proud of my progress on her Recoleta sweater pattern:

LOL you can’t even tell what this is. I recommend checking out the link above to actually see what the sweater looks like…

Overall, I never thought I would get addicted to sweater knitting. But here I am, drowning in a pile of wooly goodness! I guess I’d rather drown in yarn than other things, though.

Finally, I have managed to keep myself busy by proofing a few patterns for Josiah Bain’s new sock pattern releases (check out his awesome new sock pattern!), being asked to knit a sample pair of socks with provided yarn (yes, that means yarn I did not pay for!), and also buying yarn (yes, I did pay for that).

This awesome, lovely, so-soft yarn was courtesy of Anne of Wooly Wonka Fibers. I’ll be knitting a sample of her latest socks!

And, presenting the yarn that I did pay for (which broke my yarn diet). I just couldn’t help myself with Mr. Yarn’s anniversary sale…

First order: 7 skeins of Malabrigo Worsted in Polar Morn. And surprise, surprise – I am going to make a sweater!

Second order: As if the first wasn’t enough, I decided I needed more. This time, Malabrigo Rios in Liquid Ambar. And yes, this will grow up to be a sweater too! Shocking, I know.

So, there you have it. Looks like a lot going on, but I prefer to think that Everything is going AWESOME-ly !

Speaking of Awesome, check back next Sunday for a post about my first book-published knitting pattern!!! EEEEEKK!!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

As always, thanks for reading!

Don’t forget to follow my blog by email at the top right of the screen

And connect with me on

Facebook

Instagram

Ravelry

share your thoughts!

