malabrigo stockpile: 3 projects in 1 month

I used 5 skeins, and I am so tempted to knit another!

My first time knitting with Malabrigo was back in August 2013, when I was knitting the sample for my Hootenanny Band [of owls] headband pattern. I instantly fell in love with the high quality twist in the yarn and gorgeous dyes. However, my next knitting project with Malabrigo wouldn’t happen until a year later – this past August – when I released my Super Simple Cabled Cap pattern. The price of this yarn does hinder a new college grad, yet I knew I’d have to get my hands on more of this yarn.

At the end of September, I discovered that the Malabrigo Junkies group on Ravelry holds an annual Stockpile event in October, which consists of starting and finishing as many projects as you can during that month. I was also eyeing up a test knit – a pullover for myself – and figured that was the perfect excuse to buy some Malabrigo. (And it didn’t help Mr. Yarn was having their anniversary sale during that time, so I saved even more on my yarn purchase! I highly recommend that website for ordering the popular name brand yarns. 🙂 )

I had grand plans of knitting multiple gifts and items, such as hats, cowls, mittens, and of course my sweater, during the October Stockpile, but in reality I was able to start and finish 3 projects….and 2 were for me. (That’s a pretty good count for my knitting speed lately!)

Look at that perfect beanie fit!

First project: Complete in 2 days!

I was so excited to be a part of a group event that I woke up early on October 1 and cast on my Man Hat right away. I ended up finishing it the next day. And, I could not wait until Christmas to gift it. 🙄

Check out my Man Hat project on Ravelry here, or my blog post about it.

I used just under 1 skein of Chunky in color SM Gold. I will definitely be making more!

My second project was my test knit sweater, the Crosshatch Pullover. It’s now available for purchase on Ravelry here! I started October 5 and finished barely in time on the night of October 31. (I was finishing my sweater as my Halloween pumpkin was waiting in front of me to be carved!)

THIS IS OFFICIALLY MY FAVORITE SWEATER.

I definitely splurged on the yarn, but it was totally worth it. This yarn is so amazing – it is the Rios line, color Arco Iris. I ended up alternating skeins every row, and I tried out the sewn bind off for the ribbing edges.

Knit seamlessly from the top-down, this is a very pleasing yet simple pattern!

The fit is perfect, and I really enjoyed this yarn. Check out all of my pattern notes here on Ravelry! I hardly made any modifications. Even after blocking, the sweater kept most of its shape and hardly grew for a superwash wool.

I used 5 skeins, and I am so tempted to knit another!

I used 5 skeins, and I am so tempted to knit another!

If knitting a sweater in 27 days and a hat in 2 weren’t enough, I decided I needed to knit one more item. This one was my quick “break” from my sweater; I started on October 19 and finished on the 22nd.

Find the free pattern here. I made a few mods to mine, though! 

This quick little neck warmer used up 132 yards, which was leftover from my Hootenanny Band [of owls]. It’s a great neck warmer, and was so quick! I went up a size on needles and cast on much fewer stitches. Check out my mods on my Ravelry project page

Check out my Ravelry project page link above for all the modifications I made!

If finishing 3 projects wasn’t enough personal satisfaction, and kind of a prize for myself, I also won a contest the group held – the Best Stockpile Photo! All knitters can take a photo of the projects they finished (and didn’t quite finish), and they can be as creative as they want. And yes, me winning means I won MALABRIGO YARN! (See? My knitting is paying for itself…kind of!)

No Mal is Safe – the Malabrigo robber is out!

So yes, although the Stockpile was meant as knitting gifts to get ahead of the holiday knitting rush, 2 knit projects ended up for me and 1 was not really a Christmas present… Maybe I will be able to knit some presents with my prize yarn! (or maybe not… 😉 )

Don’t forget to follow my blog

AND aersknits on

Facebook

Instagram

Ravelry

Or follow me by email at the top right of the screen!

7 Comments

  1. Pingback: a successful gifting season | aersknits

  2. Pingback: malabrigo march: halfway done! | aersknits

  3. Pingback: malabrigo march hangover | aersknits

share your thoughts!

