test knit: bezaan shawl

Is it a triangle? A shawl? A scarf?

After making this shawl / shawlette, I have decided that it has my top 3 qualities of desirable shawls (since knitting just one makes you the Holder of All Shawl Knowledge… πŸ˜‰ ):

1. It takes less than 10 hours.

2. It can be worn different ways.

3. It uses ONE SKEIN of fingering yarn !

Although a green shirt and a raspberry color scarf wouldn't be my first choice,  I love how they contrasted each other. And I was too lazy to switch shirts...

Although a green shirt and a raspberry color scarf wouldn’t be my first choice, I love how they contrasted each other. (And I was too lazy to switch shirts…)

I just completed testing it for designer Susanne V. on Ravelry. With fingering weight yarn, I thought it would take forever, but it went quite fast – it only took about 8 hours! Purchase the pattern hereΒ (but read to the bottom of this post to find a discount code!).

I used a 100g skein of Knit Picks Stroll Kettle Dyed Sock yarn that is (very) sadly discontinued. It has a great tonal quality, and was perfect for this project. If only I knew to stock up on it a few years ago! Color is Bordeaux, which goes from a washed-out raspberry shade to a deep raspberry/violet. It is so subtle yet interesting!

The current Knit Picks Stroll Tonal is similar, but seems to have a little more color variety in each skein.Β 

Is it a triangle? A shawl? A scarf?

Is it a triangle? A shawl? A scarf?

It’s almost too bad this fine knit item is so bright and eye-catching; if I could, I would wear it everyday to work! It’s great with a black shirt and with my hair pinned up – the color reallyΒ makes it the focal point of my outfit, which is also great for a bad hair day. πŸ˜‰

I guess it’s a shawl, at least in this photo.

I also worked on this project during a recent vacation – I wish I could knit to the view below everyday!

Overall, I am very happy with how this turned out. Do you have any favorite shawl/scarf/shawlette patterns? Let me know!

Check out more photos on my Ravelry project page!Β 

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: test knit: the ono shawl | aersknits

share your thoughts!

