celebrating America’s birthday with UK yarn [and other things]

I celebrated the 4th of July here in America by driving around with my family and checking out some neat antique shops and eating at restaurants at the towns we stopped. Of course, I was checking Ravelry and Google as we went, to see if there were any yarn stores by chance. Sadly, none were in sight or en route! So I pushed for us to head to the nearest one I knew of – Darn. Knit. {Anyway} in Stillwater, Minnesota.

Luckily, they were open on the holiday, so I actually had the chance of being in a yarn store for a FULL HOUR. (I would have stayed longer, but the Significant Other was a little impatient. No more knit goodies for him! *evil laugh*) This hour was a big deal, because the closest yarn store to where I live is at least an hour away. (Which really isn’t that bad. But gas prices, and lack of knitting friends, limit the trips to a yarn store!)

I was a little frightened at first when I entered, as things had changed since I was last there, and they had a lot of Rowan, madelinetosh, Malabrigo, and other fancy name-brand yarns. However, I was armed with $$, yarn and Ravelry pattern knowledge, AND a percent-off coupon for my entire purchase!

Look at that loot!

Look at that loot!

There was so much to look at, and drool over! As soon as I saw the Quince & Co. Sparrow, I knew I’d have to purchase 2 skeins to make the Summer Fling hobo bag. It’s a free pattern that I discovered through Dayana Knits’ blog (which I highly recommend following). Since the bag only calls for 2 skeins of this wonderful looking yarn, I couldn’t pass that up!

Quince & Co. Sparrow in Fen (darker) and Butternut | 168y / 50g | fingering weight, 100% organic linen

Quince & Co. Sparrow in Fen (darker) and Butternut | 168y / 50g | fingering weight, 100% organic linen | Made in Italy

Next was the Rowan Fine Tweed and its knit sample. I am a sucker for displays and samples in yarn stores, because they make me want to buy that yarn * t h a t * much more. This sample pattern was Endpaper Mitts by Eunny Jang, which is also a free pattern on Ravelry. (I love when yarn stores use free patterns for their samples!) So naturally, I couldn’t pass that up. Also, the samples were SO warm! (Of course I tried one on…!)

Blah

Rowan Fine Tweed in Bedale (tan) and Gunnerside (blue) | 98y / 25g | fingering weight, 100% wool …and, MADE IN THE UK!

After much contemplating of colors, I chose blue and tan tweed skeins. I was hoping that they would match my new wool coat I bought last year. And yes, this is where the celebrating of America’s birthday with UK yarn comes in! 😉

The other two items that I purchased were the pattern and blue project tote bag. The pattern was, of course, a sample in the store – Mondo Cable Cardi. And the tote bag was cheap. And cute. 🙂 Overall, I had a very successful hour in that yarn store!

Finally, while we were at an antique store, I found some fun buttons and a vintage knitting project booklet featuring Red Heart yarns.

It all looks so bright and happy!

It all looks so bright and happy!

I’m planning on using the blue and/or red fish buttons on a child’s sweater I have in progress, and the others I just couldn’t pass up, including the pattern book.

This pattern actually looks a little modern, again - all its title says is "Junior League…B-214." The copyright on this booklet is 1961.

This pattern actually looks like it could be in style now – all its title says is “Junior League…B-214.” The copyright on this booklet is 1961.

A close-up of the red fish shank buttons.

A close-up of the red fish shank buttons.

All in all, it was a successful 4th of July – of course, any day is successful if it includes buying yarn! 😉

 

share your thoughts!

