WIPs & UFOs roll call

In the spirit of spring cleaning, I decided to round up all of my WIPs/UFOs and take a photo of each, so I can hold myself accountable to finishing these guys!  (And then I ended up knitting instead of continuing my spring cleaning.)  It kind of felt like taking mug shots for some of the projects – they have been “in progress” for so long, it’s like yarn prison being stuck on the needles (or needle prison being stuck with yarn?). I actually dug out my real camera instead of using my phone.  More info about some of the projects will follow in future posts 🙂

First up is this pair of socks I am making as part of a Felici yarn KAL in the Knit Picks Lovers group on Ravelry.  The good news is that I have progressed on these since this photo was taken!  Felici has been discontinued, and the group is lamenting that with this KAL.  I chose to make an easy pair of top-down, heel flap socks – Vanilla Latte Socks, which is a free pattern on Ravelry.  The deadline for the KAL (and prizes!) is March 31.

Hmm…they look short and chubby!

Second up is this crazy colored cardigan.  I bought this yarn a long time ago, and decided it was time to make something out of it.  (More on this project coming SOON!  Trust me, it actually looks OK on me.  But I haven’t decided if I’m going to wear it in public yet.)  This is another free, easy pattern – Iced.  I have also progressed on this one! I finished the collar and bound off. And am actually wearing as I type because I am so freezing cold (but the ends are still hangin’ out).

Don’t hurt your eyes!

Third is a test knit in progress for a fellow Raveler through the Free Pattern Testers group.  I won’t say much about this one yet!  But it’s scheduled to be done by the middle of April. (And I have also knit more since this photo!)

What could it be??

Onto the fourth WIP – this one I hope to finish by August.  It’s a kit from Knit Picks (from a long time ago, but started last year!) that I planned to modify to a dropped shoulder style instead of set in sleeves – but we’ll see how that turns out.  I don’t know if I calculated enough extra ease for a dropped shoulder!

This one scares me (well, the sleeves do)…so it has been taking a little break in the corner of the room!

Moving on – my fifth WIP is more like a hibernating UFO, and it’s my infamous “6 year blanket” that I talk about to friends.  I can’t remember exactly when I started it, but it was around 2005-2007.  When I started, I told my sister that I’d give it to her.  Now when I take it out now and then, I think I made a mistake telling her that!  Ah well, I’ll be a good sis.  (That is, if I ever finish it.)  I’m about halfway done.  This is also a free pattern from one of those brochures hanging by the yarn at craft stores – Block Afghan.  I think I’ve taken about 100 of those free things before, and this is the only pattern I’ve ever made from those brochures….

Two strands of acrylic held together does make it faster…but not fast enough!

It’s quite a large blanket!

Finally, my sixth through tenth WIPs/UFOs have just been sadly sitting/hibernating/stuffed away – these are the ones in yarn/needle prison.  We’ll see if these actually get finished, or if they’ll be frogged.  Here are their photos to wrap up this post:

One sock, almost done. But I don't remember the pattern I based this off of - and I'm sure my gauge has changed.

One sock, almost done. But I don’t remember the number of stitches I cast on, increased for the foot, or used for the heel turn – I based this off of a different pattern. And I’m sure my gauge has changed.

I made this after a knitting student wanted to make a summer top with a double moss stitch pattern. I tested the pattern I came up with, based on the book "Knitter's Book of Top-Down Sweaters" by Ann Budd. Well, I tested the top, at least.

I started this after a knitting student wanted to make a summer top with a double moss stitch pattern. I tested the pattern I came up with, based on the book “The Knitter’s Handy Book of Top-Down Sweaters” by Ann Budd. Well, I tested the top, at least.

I was going for a blanket of mitered squares made out of sock yarn scraps. Yeah right, I can't even finish a blanket out of 2 strands held together. This might turn into a table runner. Or be frogged.

I was going for a blanket of mitered squares made out of sock yarn scraps. Yeah right, I can’t even finish a blanket out of 2 worsted strands held together. This might turn into a table runner. Or be frogged.

I don't know why I haven't finished this mitten pattern - it's pretty nice, just a little long below the thumb. So I still have to knit this thumb, plus the 2nd mitten, and I betcha my gauge has changed over the years this has been sitting!

I don’t know why I haven’t finished this mitten pattern – it’s pretty nice, just a little long below the thumb. I still have to knit this thumb, plus the 2nd mitten, and I betcha my gauge has changed over the years this has been sitting!

This was from one of my first orders from Knit Picks, around 2008. It was also before my enlightenment of Check Your Gauge and Knitting + Assembly + Sewing = Potentially Hard Project. This will someday be a tote bag to hold a little knitting project and has lotsa pockets. It's been sadly stuffed way down in a cubby with yarn over it!

This was from one of my first orders from Knit Picks, around 2008. It was also before my enlightenment of Check Your Gauge and Knitting + Assembly + Sewing = Potentially Hard Project. This will someday be a tote bag to hold a little knitting project and has lotsa pockets. It’s been sadly stuffed way down in a box with some yarn stash hiding it! I basically just have to sew it all together with the interfacing it came with…

Bonus project photo!!

This was started in 2010 for a sampler scarf pattern for my first Learn to Knit class I teach. I forgot I still had this in progress (and hey! there's one of my circular cords I'm missing)! I don't hand out this pattern anymore in those classes, so I shall frog this one.

This was started in 2011 for a sampler scarf pattern for my first Learn to Knit class I taught. I forgot I still had this in progress (and hey! there’s one of my circular cords I’m missing)! I don’t hand out this pattern anymore in those classes, so I shall frog this one. I think.

6 Comments

  1. Pingback: finished three…started two | aersknits

  2. Pingback: finished three…started two: part 2 | aersknits

share your thoughts!

