a fine black cap

Whew.  Finally finished that black Navy watch cap.  Took two weeks, but I really shouldn’t be complaining as I completed three test knits during that time: two different hats and one fingerless glove 🙂 (…post coming in future on that experience!)

It turned out so nice and warm, yet thin, and stretchy and…ok, ok, I need to stop.  Clearly, I am slightly biased towards it.

NavyWatchCap2I need to work on photographing black yarn…that was tricky!

The simple pattern yet tedious k1, p1 ribbing throughout yielded a very nice hat – my mother’s cousin requested it since he was in the Navy.  Because the pattern in Ravelry is a 1941 American Red Cross pattern, many knitters made modifications to the pattern, and you can check out my project page to see exactly what I did, after I read some other project notes.

NavyWatchCap3Modeled by no other than the White Foam Head.

Of course, I messed up on the first row of ribbing, getting off after about the 10th stitch.  (And there was no way I was ripping out 140 stitches!)  So there is a mini-seed stitch edge,  which prevents the bottom edge from pulling together nicely.  Ah well.

NavyWatchCap3Do I see a resemblance to one of those ghost/enemy thingys from Pac-Man…?

So if you have about 62 grams of fingering weight yarn to spare (I used Knit Picks Palette), US #2.5 (3mm) needles or so, and don’t mind 11 inches of ribbing, this would be a fantastic present for a cap-loving relative or friend this Christmas.  But, I’m not so sure if I’d recommend black yarn….I couldn’t knit at night without light 😉

share your thoughts!

