Knit(ting) Sock(s) = Love(!)

Finally getting that project post done about the second pair of socks I entered at the state fair!  As I wrote in my results post, I didn’t get a ribbon for the cabled socks this year.  But it was a tough class, and I am happy that I just finished the pair on time, as I felt like ripping them out when I started – the fine gauge was a bit much for me at first.

Lissajous 1Lissajous Socks | Cookie A | Knit. Sock. Love.

I only have two socks done out of Cookie A’s second(?) sock pattern book.  But I love both of them!  This particular pair used US #1 (2.25mm) needles, which is the smallest I have used yet.

So, for these socks, you have to enjoy knitting on small needles, with cables every row, and cabling on the purl side (this happens on the heel flap).  But hey, the end result is worth it.

Lissajous 2Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Superwash Sport | 360y/100g | 100% wool | color: SWS53 (Finches), 2 skeins

These socks also come in a knee-high version, but I thought I might go (more) crazy if I had to cable that much at such a fine gauge.  What’s also unique about this pattern is there are several foot sizes – I made the 8.5″ circumference and to fit a size 9.5 foot – I ended with just barely enough yarn to spare.  I also completed these socks two-at-a-time with the magic loop method, changing to one-at-a-time when I turned the heel and picked up stitches for the gusset.

Lissajous 3Can you see the shorter cable mistake? 🙂

It’s a good thing I did two-at-a-time, because I messed up twice and miscounted my cable rows.  So I have matching mistakes on the back of the leg on a cable, and on the top of the feet.

Lissajous 4

But that’s ok!  I love how they turned out.  I may go back and weave in some yarn on the bottom of the heel inside, for reinforcement since they are wool.

I’d love to hear about your fine-gauge or cable socks!

2 Comments

share your thoughts!

