skew’d up

Oh dear.  Already late a week with my first “official” project post.  But I’ll try to make it up:

Skew Socks 1I finished these beauts about a week ago, and couldn’t be happier with the whole process (ok, I could be.  But more on that later).

Skew Socks 2

 

These socks are (almost) the coolest plain-knit socks I have made yet.  (I barely like Cookie A’s “Wedge” first, but these were much faster.)  Pattern is free online from Knitty, and is named “Skew” by Lana Holden.  With tricky increases and an almost magical heel/back of foot construction, these were really fun to knit – as the saying goes, it’s about the journey, not the destination (or something like that).  This pattern made me reaffirm my belief that some people are born with a supernatural power to make amazing yet simple patterns!  (I think they dress like this at night.)

I used Knit Picks’ Stroll hand-painted fingering yarn (100 grams/462 yards) and still had 28 total grams leftover.  I upsized to a 3.25 mm instead of the written 2.25 mm, as I had bigger feet than the written circumference.  I used the two-at-a-time magic loop technique to the heel, which I then did one-at-a-time magic loop to the end of the leg section.

Skew Socks 3The entire time I was working on the foot I was afraid they were going to turn out hugely ginormous.  I almost ripped them out and started over (this caused some anxiety – I tell ya, us knitters have it rough), and just as I was about to pull those little stitches off the needles, something inside me caused me to stop my shaking hands, and to keep going.  I am  so glad I did!

Skew Socks 4The bias-knit fabric is in opposite directions for each leg, which not only is a super comfy feel on the leg and feet, but it also adds so much visual appeal.  The big toe fits perfectly into its pocket, and the bias prevents the fabric from shifting (have you ever noticed your store-bought socks tend to shift, so that there is more “toe” by your big toe, and the toe seam can annoyingly rub your pinky toe?)  And, the way the heel “pops” onto my foot as I pull on the sock is pure glee!  Again, good pattern thinker-uppers are like knitting heroes.

Some mods I will be sure to do I knit these next time (there is a stashed yarn already calling my name):

1. Follow pattern as written and use the same larger needles.  The fit is great for my 9.5 feet!

2. I lengthened the leg section by a few rows, and I am happy I did.  I could even do a couple more.

3. Bind off LOOSE.  Like, super duper loose (a.k.a. at least don’t use the same size needle like I did – go up a few sizes).  Or I will try a sewn bind off.  The bind off I have now wasn’t enough of a deal breaker to go back and rip out (or I am just lazy), but I have to be careful pulling the socks on as it is quite tight around my heel area.  I did the basic bind off – knit 2, pass 1st stitch over second, etc.  Apparently I wasn’t mentally thinking “bind off LOOSE, bind off LOOSE” quite hard enough.

4. Use a yarn that can stand repeated wear and washing – these will be worn a lot!

Ok, enough of my blabbering (well, typing).  What’s your favorite, simple/plain-knit sock pattern?

P.S. Happy Birthday, America!  🙂

Skew Socks 5

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: state fair and 12 days of Christmas [part 2] | aersknits

    • Hi Joanne,

      I started to see the knit bias fabric after I finished the toe and went into the foot length. I was able to try them on at that point, and that helped me to see how they might be constructed. The “skew” is just the diagonal bias fabric – I hope this helps! Do you have a photo on Ravelry or another knitting/social media page of your socks?

      Anna

      Like

share your thoughts!

